Foundation

Foundation is probably the most important make up item you can own.  A good one can make you look like a more radiant, healthy version of you.  A bad one; well it can make you look a bit of a mess really.  It doesn’t matter how good that perfectly applied smokey eye is – if your base isn’t right then it’s hard to focus on anything else.

The following foundations are my current go-tos.

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum

A budget option for those who want great skin, without having to shell out.  Bourjois has a reputation for producing some of the best foundations in the drugstore, and in my opinion, some of the best foundations on the market.  This is a light/medium coverage, best suited for someone with a normal/combination skin type.  I find that I do have to set it to keep it in place all day, but once powdered, it’s a trooper!  I wear no.51, and whilst it is a spot on match – the shade selection isn’t the greatest.  Bourjois need to work on that.  Available from Boots, Superdrug and Tescos from £10.99

Mac Mineralize Moisture SPF15

This is a beautiful foundation.  Again a light/medium coverage that can be built into medium/full.  It’s a gorgeous dewy coverage that gives the skin radiance, at the same time being hydrating.  With a light dusting of powder, it goes the distance too.  Not great for flash photography – it’s a little too dewy for that.  Best suited for dry/normal/combination, anyone too dry or too oily probably wouldn’t find this the best.  I wear NC20 and its £27

Smashbox Halo Hydrating Powder

I never get as many compliments about my skin as when I wear this powder.  Its a mineral foundation, but I do like to dust it over a liquid to set if I’m going to a special occasion and want a little extra coverage.  With tons of skincare properties (including traces of gold!) its a very smoothing foundation that is great for chucking on in a hurry.  It has a light coverage that is buildable to medium, but it is best left for good skin days.  The wear is roughly about 8 hours on my dehydrated combo skin.  I wear fair, and it’s not the cheapest at £39 but you do get an impressive 21g of product.  Smashbox do starter kits which work out to be great value, and I would definitely recommend checking it out.

You may have noticed a trend.  I like my hydration.

